Think Film Pro8mm's One Roll Super8 Challenge
Create a motion picture in camera edit with a surprise ending.
Two super 8 film kits

Due March 22nd, 2017 - As if it’s not challenging enough to be a filmmaker in a digital world, here's the chance to push your filmmaking to the next level: Create a project on one roll of super 8 film with all the edits done in the camera! Pro8mm (live link) supplies the cartridge, you supply the entertainment.

The surprise ending: No one will see your finished film until it is screened live at Audience Award Film Festival this April in North Hollywood. Eeek! The first 60 entries Pro8 receives will kick off AudFest with a live accompanist (because the film is silent) and live audience awards voting. We just think that’s so cool. And to top it off, both the audience and jury winners will be announced at the live event.

Films can be any genre - animation, documentary, comedy, drama, spoof - as long as long as you capture everything on 50 feet of Super 8 film. That’s 2 minutes 30 seconds if you shoot 24 frames per second and 3 minutes 20 seconds at 18 frames per second.

You must order your Super 8 film kit before February 15, 2017, from Pro8mm for $50 to secure your spot in the contest! Use the Get Film Kit tab above to purchase your Super 8 film kit from Pro8mm. Fee gets you free shipping for one cartridge of Super 8 film, processing (prepaid mailer envelope included so you can send the film pack to Pro8mm’s lab) and scanning to a digital file. After the contest, you will get back your original film reel and a digital scan of your entry.

***ENTRY FEE $50***

Click the link below for Official Rules and more details.


1st Place Jury Award:
Two super 8 film kits

1st Place Audience Award:
One Rhonda Cam Super 8 film camera and a film kit

Open to the public worldwide, excluding the following: Antarctica, Afghanistan, Cote d'Ivoire, Cuba, Belarus, Bouvet Island, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Christmas Island, Equatorial Guinea, Haiti, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq, Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Lao, People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Myanmar, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Serbia and Montenegro, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Zimbabwe.

View Full Contest Details
Showing 0 of 0 comments